Internal I  Events  I Contact Us


CEPC Organization

The organization structure was officially formed in the kick-off meeting in September 2013. It consists of the Institute Board (IB) with representatives from each institution in the project; the Steering Committee (SC) with members appointed by the IB; the International Advisory Committee with experts from various fields providing consult to the SC; the Project Director appointed by the SC and in direct charge of the three working groups, Theory, Accelerator, and Detector & Physics. In 2019, the International Accelerator Review Committee and the International Detector R&D Review Committee were formed.



International Advisory Committee

  • Barry Barish, Caltech
  • Hesheng Chen, IHEP, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Michel Davier, LAL
  • Marcel Demarteau, ORNL
  • Brian Foster, DESY/University of Hamburg & Oxford University
  • Rohini Godbole, CHEP, Bangalore
  • David Gross, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • George Hou, Taiwan University
  • Peter Jenni, CERN & Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg
  • Young-Kee Kim (Chair), University of Chicago
  • Eugene Levichev, BINP
  • Lucie Linssen, CERN
  • Joe Lykken, Fermilab
  • Luciano Maiani, University of Rome
  • Michelangelo Mangano, CERN
  • Hitoshi Murayama, University of California, Berkeley & Kavli IPMU
  • Tatsuya Nakada, EPFL
  • Katsunobu Oide, CERN & KEK
  • Robert Palmer, BNL
  • John Seeman, SLAC
  • Ian Shipsey, Oxford University
  • Steinar Stapnes, CERN
  • Geoffrey Taylor, University of Melbourne

International Accelerator Review Committee

  • Phillip Bambade, LAL
  • Marica Enrica Biagini (Chair), INFN
  • Brian Foster, DESY/University of Hamburg & Oxford University
  • In-Soo Ko, POSTTECH
  • Eugene Levichev, BINP
  • Katsunobu Oide, CERN & KEK
  • Anatolii Sidorin, JINR
  • Steinar Stapnes, CERN
  • Makoto Tobiyama, KEK
  • Zhentang Zhao, SINAP
  • Norihito Ohuchi, KEK
  • Carlo Pagani, INFN-Milano

International Detector R&D Review Committee

  • Jim Brau, USA, Oregon
  • Valter Bonvicini, Italy, Trieste
  • Ariella Cattai, CERN, CERN
  • Cristinel Diaconu, France, Marseille
  • Brian Foster, UK, Oxford
  • Liang Han, China, USTC
  • Dave Newbold, UK, RAL (chair)
  • Andreas Schopper, CERN, CERN
  • Abe Seiden, USA, UCSC
  • Laurent Serin, France, LAL
  • Steinar Stapnes, CERN, CERN
  • Roberto Tenchini, Italy, INFN
  • Ivan Villa Alvarez, Spain, Santader
  • Hitoshi Yamamoto, Japan, Tohoku

CEPC Working Groups

Three working groups have been formed to coordinate pre-studies for the CEPC project. Activities of each group are briefly described below and you can find out more from their regular meetings (link to indico).

 Accelerator Working Group
    --- conveners:
Jie Gao (IHEP), Jingyu Tang (IHEP) , Chenghui Yu (IHEP), Yuhui Li (IHEP)

The Accelerator WG are pursuing an optimized parameter design of a circular electron positron collider by using analytical expression of maximum beam-beam parameter and beamstrahlung beam lifetime from given design goal and technical limitations. The first study on the machine parameters has been published (reference) and there are on-going efforts on the following topics:

  • Global parameter optimization

  • Beamstrahlung effect

  • Final focus system design

  • Dynamic aperture and momentum acceptance study

  • Pretzel scheme design

The AC Power consumption is critical for the machine but you can perform a quick estimation yourself with the light-weighted program developed by Dr. Song Jin. Click to run!

 Theory Working Group
   --- conveners:
Hongjian He (SJTU), Jianping Ma (ITP), XiaoGang He (SJTU)

The group is focused on the physics potential of both the electron-positron collider at 240-250 GeV and the proton-proton collider with much higher energy. Seven sub-groups have been formed, covering the following topics:

  • Standard Model (SM): SM will be tested in even higher precision at CEPC/SPPC, and it is also the foundations to claim new discovery. The precision of SM predictions must coincide with the experimental one and lots of theoretical works are needed.

  • Higgs Physics: This group will focus on the Higgs physics in the SM and BSM and explore the motivations and behaviors of SM-like Higgs boson and extended Higgs sectors

  • Beyond SM– Supersymmetry: Supersymmetry is the popular candidate of BSM. This group will explore how the CEPC/SPPC can discover the supersymmetry and measure the corresponding parameters

  • Beyond SM – Alternatives: The goals of this group are similar with supersymmetry group except for alternative BSM, for example the extra dimension models, little Higgs models, dynamical symmetry breaking models etc.

  • Flavor Physics: This group will explore what kind of flavor physics can be carried out and how it can complement to the direct measurements

  • TeV Scale Cosmology: This group will explore the interplay between collider physics and cosmology

  • Monte Carlo Tools This group will develop tools to bridge theory and experiment

In short, the elucidation of the mechanism of electro-weak symmetry breaking and exploration of possible physics beyond the standard model need the hard work and cooperation between theorists and experimentalists. The status of this Theory WG is summarized in this talk.

Physics & Detector Working Group
  --- conveners:
Joao Barreiro Guimaraes Costa (IHEP), Jianchun Wang (IHEP), Jianbei Liu (USTC)

This working group is responsible for R&D on detectors, detector optimization and physics studies. It consists of 5 subgroups, namely Vertex, Tracker, Calorimeter and Physics. Besides the critical technologies for each sub-detector, the group are also pursuing efforts on the following topics:

  •  SM Higgs properties precision measurements

  • SM precision measurements and New Physics searches

  • Detector geometry optimization

  • Reconstruction algorithm development and optimization

  • Interface to accelerator and beam conditions

Join us if you are interested! You may contact the conveners directly or inform us through the “Join US” on this web.

Copyright ©2002-2013 Institute of High Energy Physics, CAS, Questions and Comments to